HomeCoffee InfoIs Coffee Creamer Gluten Free? (My Top 3 Picks)

Is Coffee Creamer Gluten Free? (My Top 3 Picks)

If you are coeliac but just can’t live without the morning buzz of your coffee with a coffee creamer or if you know someone who has this condition, this post is definitely for you.

The world has come a long way since people didn’t know anything about the coeliac disease but today they know that they need to maintain a certain diet to stop their autoimmune system from attacking their tissues.

They need to be extra-cautious when ingesting something and should actively be on the lookout for the ingredients they are consuming. Is coffee creamer gluten-free? Yes, there are some coffee creamers that are certified gluten-free but there’s a lot more to this discussion.

It’s not a surprise because food-producing companies are tailoring their products to cater to a niche audience. Gone are the days when targeting the general masses made business sense for companies. In this post, we’ll discuss all about gluten-free coffee creamers, which options people have, and what are some of the best gluten-free coffee creamers out there.

Regardless of the type of coffee creamers they buy, it’s important for a coeliac to carefully go through the ingredients mentioned on the label. Gluten might not directly be present in some of the coffee creamers, however, some of the ingredients such as flavorings might contain traces of this ingredient.

Why Should People Look For Gluten-Free Coffee Creamers?

According to the National Institute of Health (NIH), in 2012 every 1 in 141 people in the US has coeliac disease, that’s around 1% of the population. The figures have rapidly gone up today and more than 1% of the people are affected by the disease, this is a solid enough reason to look for gluten-free products in the diet, and coffee creamers are no exception.

Apart from being common, the disease is known to trigger the autoimmune system in a way that it starts attacking its own bodily tissues. So it’s important that people with this condition actively look for gluten-free stuff and this includes coffee creamers as well.

Usually, when people are coeliac, they are also lactose intolerant so their options are further limited but there are still plenty of non-daily gluten-free coffee creamers out there in the market. We’ll discuss these in this article.

Gluten is a common ingredient in barley, wheat, rye, and their variations. So when you are looking at the label, just keep your eyes open to spot any of these ingredients, if you see them on the list, it’s not worth risking your well-being over a coffee creamer. Find an alternative in the market.

What Options Do You Have?

Well, the creamers prepared using traditional dairy items is gluten-free as it is 100% natural and pure. If you can’t find that, you can also try soy or nuts to prepare the cream as these are also organic and gluten-free.

But be very careful as gluten can be sneaky and find its way through thickening agents or syrups. Many brands use them and inadvertently contain gluten.

Also check out: Is Nespresso Gluten-Free?

Do Non-dairy Creamers Contain Gluten?

The non-dairy creamers are riskier because there are other added chemicals to prepare them. Finding a non-dairy creamer and making sure it is gluten-free is like finding a needle in a sea.

I can’t suggest any particular brand and guarantee that their non-dairy creamer is gluten-free. Your best bet would be to read the labels and looks for suspicious ingredients. If you see on the label that the product is certified gluten-free, you can trust the brand. But even then, be extra-cautious.

So to answer the question, yes, most non-dairy creamers contain gluten.

Is Starbucks Coffee Creamer Gluten Free?

Not all the coffee creamers you find at Starbucks are gluten-free. However, they have catered to this market by introducing their non-dairy Starbucks creamer, they claim it’s 100% gluten-free and even suggest that ingredients such as soy and peanuts are not present in it.

This makes it an ideal choice if you are looking to cut back on your gluten intake. The bottle costs around $5 (check for the updated prices in your region). Rest assured, if you see that the product’s label reads “gluten-free”, you can trust it.

Is Delight Creamer Gluten-Free?

Delight also claims that its creamer is gluten-free. So there’s good news for you if you are a coeliac and looking for better alternatives to enjoy your coffee without risking your well-being.

If you are looking for dairy-free and gluten-free coffee creamers, Delight is an excellent option. Based in Canada, this brand is committed to providing gluten-free products and their website explicitly mentions that their creamers are dairy-free and gluten-free. You can access the information through this link.

Is Coffee Mate Hazelnut Creamer Gluten-Free?

If you are particularly looking at this particular flavor, you won’t find any authentic information about it on the internet. However, Nestle (the company which produces Coffee Mate) does mention on its official website that Coffee-mate as a product is gluten-free.

But, I came across people from different parts of the world i.e. (New Zealand) who consumed the product and their health deteriorated because their Coffee-mate contained gluten. There’s no proof to independently verify that person’s claim because that guy would be having a number of other things in his diet and not just Coffee-mate.

In my opinion, if a brand as big as Nestle claims that their product is gluten-free, you can trust it, but I leave it to your judgment call.  As far as Coffee-mate Hazelnut Creamer is concerned, it’s gluten-free as per this resource.

Also, if you are using Coffee-mate Bliss flavors, their Hazelnut is gluten-free, at least in the United States.

This gluten-free coffee creamer comes in Hazelnut, Vanilla

Is Coffee Mate French Vanilla Gluten-Free?

If you are using a Coffee-mate Natural Bliss Vanilla flavor, its creamer is gluten-free. I could find authentic resources confirming this, but this doesn’t mean all Coffee-mate creamers are gluten-free.

Your procedure to find out should be the same, read the label and look for “gluten-free” certified. If you don’t find it, the next step should be to look for suspicious ingredients such as wheat, rye, soy, etc.

You can also check out the company’s FAQs page and see the information available about the product there. I even go to the extent of contacting the company’s support representatives to find out information about brands and products. In most cases, their staff is extremely helpful and points you in the right direction.

Is Chobani Coffee Creamer Gluten-free?

You must’ve heard about Chobani’s yogurt, but did you know this brand also supplies coffee and creamers? If you have celiac disease, then there’s good news for you. Yes, Chobani coffee creamers are available in gluten-free form. You can access the link here.

Are There Any Gluten-Free Sugar-Free Coffee Creamers?

Yes, if you are looking for options in this category, even though there are limited credible ones, there are options nonetheless. You should know that gluten-free coffee creamers already have a niche audience. Further categorizing them would mean extremely limited options.

I could find the Coffee Mate coffee creamers to be gluten-free and sugar-free. Do you have any other recommendations to share here? Don’t forget to comment below and let others know.

My Top 3 Picks For Gluten-Free Coffee Creamers

Based on my knowledge and search, I narrowed it down to the following 3 coffee creamers, these are not recommendations but just an opinion based on the information I gathered.

Coffee Mate Natural Bliss Creamer

Produced by Nestle, Coffee Mate Natural Bliss comes in a variety of flavors, these are certified gluten-free and people in the US have been using them for quite some time now.

If you are not in the US, you may want to confirm by contacting Nestle customer support, however, as far as my knowledge is concerned, it’s perfectly safe to consume.

Nutpods Creamers

Nutpods creamers are a dairy/froth-friendly creamer for coffee made exclusively from almonds and coconut cream. These are delectable and will leave you wanting more after every use.

It is a common competitor and substitute of half-and-half. It offers a lavish taste and consistency. They have a natural flavourful taste to them and are loved by their consumers.

Ripple Half & Half

Ripple half-and-half is made from pure plant resources. It has replaced normal dairy half-and-half because of its non-dairy tendencies for lactose intolerants and just people trying to avoid dairy for any reason that applies valid for the individual.

There are also substituted saturated fats and cholesterol in dairy half and half with necessary omega 6s and omega 3s in the amount that your body requires. It is made with pea protein and sunflower oil.

Conclusion

I hope this post provided you with a detailed answer about, “is coffee creamer gluten-fee?” I also shared my recommendations for the top 3 coffee creamers. If you liked this information, do let me know in the comments below as I’d love to hear from my readers.

Until next time.

Good day!

Social Share

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular posts

My favorites