Gluten is known to trigger an autoimmune response in the body. So it is essential to know that is Nespresso gluten-free? This piece will explain in detail the reasons why should you ask this question when having your favorite coffee.
Most people ignore this thought and consume their coffees without knowing the reality of this substance and drinking it daily.
To understand this vital question, it is essential to know more about gluten and why you should ask if it’s there in your Nespresso.
What is Gluten
Gluten is the name of a protein commonly found in natural grains. It is present in grains such as rye, wheat, barley, etc. Any food made from these natural grains would contain gluten. So, your bread, pasta, and pizza will all have gluten in them.
More than 20% of Americans believe that a gluten-free diet is good for them. The figure has only grown since then and today, more and more people are inclined towards a gluten-free diet.
As more people are concerned about gluten in their diet, it is vital to address this question for the love of coffee, why gluten can be dangerous for coffee lovers.
What Does Gluten-Free Mean?
If you are a coffee addict, you can rest assured that your coffee is gluten-free. It means it does not even have traces of gluten (a substance found in grains).
However, some flavors of coffee are derived from grains. Therefore, if you are too worried about the traces of gluten in your coffee, it is always best to read the labels on your coffee and ask the baristas if they know something about it.
Why Can Gluten Be Problematic For Coffee Lovers?
On average, Americans consume 2 cups of coffee per day. So, they want to know more about what they are consuming. Here’s why gluten can be problematic for coffee lovers.
Gluten is known to cause Celiac disease. It is an autoimmune response in which your immune system wrongfully recognizes gluten as an alien substance entering the small intestine and attacks it.
When attacking gluten, the immune system damages Villi (A small substance in the small intestine responsible for aiding the absorption of food nutrients).
The good news is, coffee is gluten-free. So, if you are having your favorite brew, now you don’t need to worry whether it will affect you in any way. What does gluten-free mean? Let’s find out.
Are there any benefits of Gluten?
Joe Kahn says that when people switch to a gluten-free diet, they rely more on diets such as fish and rice. This unnatural shift in diet has its consequences.
Do Nespresso Capsules Contain Gluten?
The official Nespresso website answers this question in its FAQs section. It says that the Nespresso capsules are gluten-free. So you don’t need to worry about using the Nespresso capsules for your coffee.
People ask this question because most of them consider coffee beans or pods a form of grain.
Moreover, they also believe that some coffee flavors have a grain-like taste, which is a cause of worry for those who prefer a gluten-free diet as they don’t want to be associated with any grain.
Are you one of those people? You don’t need to fret over it anymore…
Summary of Why to Ask the Question, Is Nespresso Gluten-free.
In case this information was a bit overwhelming for you as a reader, here’s a quick review for you to remember the most important points from the post.
- Gluten can cause an autoimmune response in some people
- A gluten-free diet can also have its consequences
- If you are too cautious about gluten, it’s always better to double-check your coffee’s ingredients
In short, it is debatable whether a gluten-free approach to life is beneficial; however, one thing is quite clear, Nespresso is gluten-free and it’s a vital question to ask.
Did this article add something new to your knowledge? Let me know in the comments if you are a gluten-conscious person and how did this article add value to your understanding.
Enjoy your gluten-free Nespresso and have fun!